



C-TARA Workshop Schedule

"Sustainable Rural Development: Empowering Communities for Progress"

Venue: Nag Auditorium, VMCC (Inauguration), Lecture Hall 21, VMCC (Sessions 1-3)

Day 1 – October 4, 2024 (Friday)

Time	Session	Speakers/Panelists	Remarks
9:00 AM - 10:00 AM		Registration	
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM	Inauguration	 Prof. Anand B. Rao, Head, C-TARA, IIT Bombay Prof. Shireesh Kedare, Director, IIT Bombay Prof. Milind Atrey, Deputy Director, ART, IIT Bombay Prof. Pennan Chinnasamy, C-TARA, IIT Bombay Prof. Chaaruchandra Korde, C-TARA, IIT Bombay 	
11:00 AM - 11:30 AM	Tea Break		
11:30 AM - 1:00 PM	Session 1: Water and Agriculture	 Dr. Sanjay Belsare, Secretary, Water Resources Department, Govt. Maharashtra Prof. D. Parthasarathy, Dean and Professor, Nayanta School of Public Policy; Professor (on lien), IIT Bombay Mr.A.Gurunathan, Director, The Dhan Academy, Dhan foundation Chair: Prof. Pennan Chinnasamy, C-TARA, IIT Bombay 	20 mins to each speaker. 30 mins for discussion
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM		Poster display by C-TARA students and Lunch Break	
2.30 PM - 4.00 PM	Session 2: Health, Nutrition, and Food Security	 Dr. Pratibha Dwarkanth, Associate Professor, Division of Nutrition, St. John's Hospital, Bengaluru Dr. Santhosh Roy, Joint Director of Health Services, Kolkata Dr. Kavita Pal, Scientific Officer, ACTREC, Mumbai Chair: Prof. Satish B. Agnihotri, C-TARA, IIT Bombay Co Chair: Prof Amit Arora, C-TARA, IIT Bombay 	20 mins to each speaker. 30 mins for discussion
4.00 PM - 4.30 PM	Tea Break		
4.30 PM - 6.00 PM	Session 3: Energy Transition	 Mr. Shashank Jewalikar, Executive Director, Load Despatch Centre, Maharashtra State Electricity Transmission Co. Ltd. Mr. Sameer Nair, Founder and Director, Gram Oorja, Mumbai Ms. Ann Josey, Fellow, Prayas Energy Group, Pune Chair: Prof. Priya Jadhav, C-TARA, IIT Bombay 	15 mins to each speaker. 30 mins for discussion
7:00 PM - 8:30 PM	Dinner and Networking		

Organising Committee:

Prof. Pennan Chinnasamy (p.chinnasamy@iitb.ac.in)
Prof. Chaaruchandra Korde (ckorde@iitb.ac.in)





C-TARA Workshop Schedule

"Sustainable Rural Development: Empowering Communities for Progress"

Venue: Lecture Hall 21, VMCC

Day 2 – October 5, 2024 (Saturday)

Time	Session	Speakers/Panelists	Remarks
9:30 AM – 11:00 AM	Session 4: Learning with Gandhi: Experiments in Contemporary Education in India	 Prof. Shambu Prasad, IRMA, Anand Ms.Rajni Bakshi, Author, Mumbai Ms.Sushama Sharma, Director, Anand Niketan School, Sewagram Prof. Pankaj Sekhsaria, C-TARA, IIT Bombay 	15 mins to each speaker. 30 mins for discussion
11:00 AM - 11:30 AM	Tea Break		
11:30 AM – 1:00 PM	Session 5: Rural Industries and Infrastructure	 Mr. Abhay Mahajan, IAS, Special Commissioner of State GST Mr. Ravikumar Kandaswamy, Deputy Director, Energy & Infrastructure, MGIRI, Wardha Mr. Pradeep Deshpande, Gramshree Enterprises, Chhattisgarh Prof. Vishal R. Sardeshpande, C-TARA, IIT Bombay Chair: Prof. Chaaruchndra Korde, C-TARA, IIT Bombay 	20 mins to each speaker. 30 mins for discussion
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM	Poster display by C-TARA students and Lunch Break		
2:30 PM - 4:30 PM	C-TARA Outreach Presentation	 RuTAG PRAYOG TUM-SEED RuDRA UMA SHBRI Alumni Presentation 	
4:30 PM – 5:00 PM	Tea Break		
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM	Valedictory Session	 Prof. Anand B. Rao, Head, C-TARA, IIT Bombay Prof. Pennan Chinnasamy, C-TARA, IIT Bombay Prof. Chaaruchandra Korde, C-TARA, IIT Bombay 	Concluding remarks & Award distribution
7:00 PM - 8:30 PM	Dinner and Networking		

Organising Committee:

Prof. Pennan Chinnasamy (p.chinnasamy@iitb.ac.in) Prof. Chaaruchandra Korde (ckorde@iitb.ac.in)